After a car accident, the first thing you should do is seek medical attention. Failure to seek medical attention after a car accident could cost you money. Under Florida Law, your automobile insurance company is required to set aside up to ten thousand dollars if ever you are involved in an automobile accident. These monies are called PIP Benefits or No-Fault Benefits. To gain access to your PIP benefits, you must seek medical treatment within 14 days of your car or truck accident. If you do not seek medical treatment within 14 days of your car or truck accident, you forfeit your right to your PIP benefits. In other words, failing to seek medical treatment within 14 days could cost you as much as ten thousand dollars. This is called the Florida PIP 14-day rule.
If you believe you suffered an injury as a result of a car accident, you should seek medical treatment immediately. Only a qualified medical provider might include the following:
- Urgent Care Clinic
- Your primary physician
- Any medical doctor
- AA chiropractor
- A Dentist
PIP benefits can be very helpful after a car accident. PIP benefits can be used to reimburse wage loss for time off from work. Under Florida law, PIP will reimburse you sixty percent any wages lost as a result of your car accident.
Additionally, PIP benefits can be sued to reimburse you for mileage and out of pocket expenses such as prescription costs. If a loved one has passed away as a result of a car accident, PIP may also pay out a death benefit of $5,000. It is important to note PIP benefits cannot be used to pay for massage therapy or acupuncture.
If you have a question about your car or truck accident, or your automobile insurance, feel free to call The Watson Firm for a free consultation to discuss your rights and options.