Becoming involved in a car accident is never an enjoyable experience. The state of Florida has some unique rules that drivers must follow, like the Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance requirement.
Read on to learn more about PIP insurance in Florida.
PIP Insurance Basics
When you purchase a vehicle in Florida, you are required to provide proof of PIP insurance. This kind of insurance is designed to provide funding to cover 80% of all essential and rational medical costs up to $10,000. This money is to be paid to the injured party regardless of who caused the accident.
You’re not able to obtain PIP insurance from just anyone. This type of coverage must be distributed to you from an insurance company that is licensed in Florida to offer plans or by being eligible for a self-insurance certificate through Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV).
Florida’s Auto Insurance Mandates
If you wish to register your vehicle in the state of Florida, you are subject to the following requirements:
PIP and Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance
A minimum of $10,000 in PIP and PDL insurance. Taxis are required to hold bodily injury liability (BIL) coverage of $125,000 per person, $250,000 per occurrence, and $50,000 for PDL coverage.
Maintain the required coverage for vehicles that are not being driven or are inoperable. You must give up your license plate or tag prior to dissolving your insurance.
Obtain your plan from an insurance provider that is licensed to conduct business in Florida.
Uphold Florida insurance coverage all throughout the period of registration no matter your vehicle’s physical location.
If you were involved in a car accident in which you sustained injuries, our attorneys at The Watson Firm are here to help. Our team is highly skilled in the area of personal injury law, and we have helped many other people, just like you. Don’t hesitate to contact our firm with your case right away.