By law, Florida drivers are required to carry certain pieces of insurance coverage in case of a car accident. Read on to learn which pieces of coverage you are legally required to carry as a driver in the state.
Personal Injury Protection
Personal injury protection (PIP) insurance is designed to cover 80% of all medical expenses up to $10,000 in the event of an injury-sustaining accident. This coverage will be paid out to the insured no matter who caused the accident.
Property Damage Liability
Property damage liability (PDL) insurance covers damages sustained by you to the other party’s property as a result of an accident. The minimum allowable coverage for this type of insurance is $10,000.
You Must Have Coverage, Even If You’re Not Driving
Even if you are unable to drive your vehicle for a period of time or if the vehicle is inoperable, you are still legally required to carry all necessary pieces of insurance coverage.
However, you can’t get car insurance from just anyone. You are required to purchase your policy from an insurance carrier that is licensed to conduct business in the state of Florida.
If you do not sustain the necessary insurance coverage throughout your registration period, your driver’s license and license plate may be suspended for up to three years. In order to avoid having your license suspended, it’s a good idea to hand in your license plate at the closest driver’s license office and motor vehicle service center or Tax Collector’s office prior to canceling your insurance in the event you get rid of the vehicle. In addition to the aforementioned penalties, you may also be assessed a $500 fine for not carrying the required coverage.
We Can Help
If you’ve been involved in an accident, you may wonder where to turn for help. Look no further than The Watson Firm, as our attorneys are highly experienced in the field of personal injury law. Don’t hesitate to contact us with your case right away.
Call the Pensacola lawyers at The Watson Firm today at (850) 607-2929 to speak with an attorney about your personal injury case.