While it may seem unnecessary to carry uninsured motorist coverage, this is perhaps one of the most important pieces of insurance you will carry. As a Florida driver, there are minimum amounts of insurance coverage that you are legally required to carry.
Insurance Required in Florida
In the state of Florida, drivers are legally required to carry a minimum of $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL) as well as a minimum of $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.
PDL insurance covers the damage you cause to someone else’s property as a result of a crash. PIP insurance is also known as “Florida no-fault insurance,” because it protects drivers no matter who is at fault for an accident. This kind of insurance covers a portion of your medical bills and lost wages if you’re hurt in a car accident.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
While you are not required by law to carry bodily injury insurance or uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, it may be a good idea to elect this coverage into your policy.
While Florida law does not require motorists to carry significant amounts of coverage in the event of an accident, that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t carry extra insurance. Uninsured and underinsured motorist policies are designed to protect your assets in the event you cannot pay for someone’s damage and they decide to sue you.
As you know, $10,000 does not go very far in the medical world, so it is in your best interest to carry additional coverage so you aren’t held liable for additional damages if you don’t have bodily injury liability coverage.
If you have assets you’d like to protect, it’s a good idea to add uninsured and/or underinsured motorist coverage to your policy. That way, an injured motorist will not be able to come after your house or other assets in order to pay for their medical bills.
If you’ve been involved in a car accident, it is in your best interest to seek adequate legal representation right away. The attorneys here at The Watson Firm are highly accomplished in the field of personal injury law and have helped many others just like you. Don’t hesitate to contact our firm with your case right away.
Call the Pensacola lawyers at The Watson Firm today at (850) 607-2929 to speak with an attorney about your personal injury case.